Bob and Ann Weiss Undergraduate Paper Award

In order to be eligible, the undergraduate student submission must be an original research paper that meets the criteria of the call for conference submissions. It must be based on a communication theory, but it can be reflexive. An abstract is sufficient on or before February 13th of the conference year.

Submission Guidelines:

The complete paper must be e-mailed as a Word attachment to the Communication Center Section/NACC Student Coordinator by the date announced in the call for papers. The subject line should read: “NACC Undergraduate Paper Competition.” To ensure an anonymous review process, the document (body of paper and abstract) cannot include the author’s name or affiliation. Information that in any way identifies the presenter or her/his affiliation may disqualify the proposal from consideration. A separate cover page should include the following: name, university/college, address, phone number, and e-mail address.

Additional Guidelines:

  1. Current or recently graduated students are allowed to submit one paper per conference to the undergraduate paper competition.
  2. The submission may be either a single-authored or co-authored paper written during undergraduate studies and is not limited to those written as part of coursework.
  3. A student whose paper is accepted for presentation may not submit another paper from their undergraduate work for this competitive paper competition. They may submit additional papers for consideration on non-competitive panels.
  4. If your abstract is accepted as a conference submission, you are expected to present your paper, regardless of whether or not you win the award.
  5. Presenters are required to register for the mini-conference.
  6. The award-winner will be determined by a committee formed for that purpose by the Communication Center Section/NACC Student Coordinator.
  7. Manuscripts should not exceed 5,000 words.
  8. Manuscripts should be submitted by the end of the day in the local time zone of the submitting author.

View Past Award Winners