NCA's Hobgood Distinguished Service to the Communication Centers Award

The award shall be presented to the person judged to have made the greatest contribution to the support and/or promotion of communication centers, the Communication Centers section of the National Communication Association, and the profession during her or his career. Considerations include demonstrated dedication to excellence, commitment to the profession, concern for others, vision of what could be, and appreciation of diversity. The person must be a member in good standing of the Communication Centers section of NCA. Self-nominations are encouraged.

The nominator should send a letter of nomination stating why the person should be recognized for distinguished service to Communication Centers. Additionally, the nominator should be prepared to gather additional information if needed (due to multiple nominations or need for clarification).

The Nomination Should Include:

  • The nominee's current vita (provided by either the nominee or the nominee’s administration or colleagues)
  • Evidence of the above considerations
  • A minimum of two and maximum of three letters of recommendation, including: one from a colleague in Communication Centers outside of the nominee’s institution, and one from a faculty member within the nominee’s institution.

Nominations must be submitted by September 1st of the award-granting year. The recipient will be chosen by a committee consisting of current officers of the Communication Centers section (past chair, chair, vice-chair, vice-chair elect). The award will be presented at the NCA convention, and reported at the NACC conference.


If you have questions regarding the nomination process, contact Carl Brown

Past Recipients:

  • 2017 Wendy Atkins-Sayre
  • 2015 Shawn Apostel, Bellarmine University
  • 2014 Ted Sheckels, Randolph Macon College
  • 2013 Kim Cuny, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • 2012 Kathie Turner, Davidson College
  • 2011 Kyle Love, Columbia College
  • 2010 Marlene Preston, Virginia Tech
  • 2009 Linda Hobgood, University of Richmond